The Pine Ridge Reservation Is One Of The Most Beautiful Places On Earth

The land I come from is often portrayed as an ugly place.  The infographic explaining Pine Ridge reservation is the poorest county in America, superimposed over some trash billowing around a passed out drunk in White Clay is fairly typical.  But I think that story is a half-truth at best, even though its the only story the media seems to want to tell.  There is a lot of beauty in this land alongside all the suffering.  I want to document that other untold story.  I’ll do this by taking my camera as I go about my life, which involves travelling around the various reservation districts, and photographing what I think is truly one of the most beautiful places on earth.  I’ll add to this post as the project progresses.

DSCF0661DSCF0669 DSCF0660  DSCF0691 DSCF0770 DSCF0688 DSCF0689 DSCF0690 DSCF0837 dscf01881.jpg Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation Photos From Around Pine Ridge Reservation

DSCF0729 DSCF0714

9 thoughts on “The Pine Ridge Reservation Is One Of The Most Beautiful Places On Earth

  1. Thanks! It’s great to see more people from the rez saying fuck you to the media’s portrayal of the rez. I’m a fan of your stories on cowbird as well. Maybe we could collaborate on a project or something sometime.

  2. Angel, yeah, sounds good. I remember you from the cowbird project. I added you on FB. Just let me know what you have in mind, and I’m probably down to collaborate.

  3. I love your homeland and I’ve seen its beauty. I visited Pine Ridge and surrounding areas a few yeas ago. When I visited it was May, and I drove first out to Kyle first after driving through a breathtaking view of the Badlands. On the way to Kyle, I drove over beautiful, rolling hills ablaze in bright yellow flowers and the sky was as bright as a bluebird. It was stunning. I took a tour through many parts of Pine Ridge and visited Wounded Knee. My guide took me off the beaten path as well and showed me some places where the wild choke-cherries and other edible fruits grew and I got to eat some with his permission. I saw buffalo roaming wild for the first time. I love SD, especially the parts away from all the tourism (no offense to the tourists or the tourism industries), because I love the Indian people and what they love. Although I’m not part of your tribe, your land spoke to the parts of my heart which are Choctaw & Cherokee and I was blessed to visit your homeland. I lodged at a bed & breakfast in the Black Hills in Hill City and felt the spirituality of the land my first night in town. I arrived at the Rapid City airport late at night and drove a rental car in darkness from there to Hill City. I didn’t even see the Black Hills in the light of day until the next morning when I awoke and looked out on the view from my room’s balcony. I had felt the power the night before. Your land is truly beautiful and wondrous and so are your people.

Leave a Reply

